In order to be considered a ninth-degree black belt, there are many criteria that you must meet. For starters, you need to have mastered at least two martial arts disciplines and will demonstrate proficiency through teaching for six years or more.

Practice alone will not be enough. You need a sharpened mind, coupled with the ability to teach and to be able to demonstrate your skills on the mat.

This means that you know your techniques inside and out and can express your experience in combat readiness.

The Ninth Degree Black Belt is an achievement that involves much more than just a title. The ninth-degree black belt is designed as the ultimate marker of accomplishment within the martial arts world’s rich history.

What martial arts have the 9th-degree black belt?

Not every martial arts organization offers ninth-degree black belts. They are usually reserved for practitioners who have cultivated their skills to the point where they are perfected and they have mastered two or more martial arts disciplines.

In some organizations, only one ninth-degree black belt is allowed at any given time. Some of the most well-known martial arts with a ninth-degree black belt system include;

1. Brazilian Jiu Jitsu

The ninth-degree degree black belt in Brazilian Jiu Jitsu can be awarded to those who have attained mastery of the art in five areas: Striking and grappling, conducting and controlling a class, instructing (the ability to teach others what is learned in class), participating in tournaments and public performance (performing for the public, like self-defense demonstrations or seminar presentations).

2. Aikido

The ninth-degree black belt in Aikido is awarded to those who have mastered the art. This involves mastery of the physical and spiritual aspects of the art and knowledge of how to pass on what is learned to others.

3. Judo

Judo has two ninth-degree black belts—the “Godan” and “Hachidan.” The Godan denotes a black belt holder who has achieved mastery in the art through teaching or competing.

This person would have competed at least at the national level in Japan. The Hachidan is an honorary rank given to people who have contributed significantly to the development of judo.

It is considered an achievement of the highest level. In addition, there is a “Kudan,” which denotes expertise in the art. This rank can be achieved by both a practitioner and a teacher.

4. Taekwondo

The ninth-degree black belt in Taekwondo is achieved through competition at the national level or international competitions. A sense of leadership and outstanding spirit are also required to reach this level.


The ninth-degree black belt in World Taekwondo Federation (WTF) MMA denotes a mastery of the art.

The holder is awarded the title after passing a special training course and having earned recognition for fighting excellence through competition.

6. Karate

There are several ninth-degree black belts in traditional Karate systems. The criteria for achieving this rank vary but usually involve a high level of competition and years of teaching.

Some organizations require the practitioner to have a minimum of 20 black belt ranks or more before being awarded the ninth-degree black belt.

What is a 9-degree black belt?

A 9th-degree black belt is the highest rank attainable in many different arts, including Tae Kwon Do and Aikido.

In these arts, a 9th-degree black belt is given to the most well-respected practitioners who are known for their expertise and knowledge.

To be awarded a 9th-degree black belt, one must be well-versed in not only their own art but also in other related disciplines.

For example, to achieve the 9th-degree black belt in Tae Kwon Do, one must have received a 7th-degree black belt in their art as well as a 2nd-degree black belt in Taekwondo.

Some arts award lower-ranking belts to highly proficient and knowledgeable practitioners who lack competition experience.

These practitioners are still considered extremely skilled and knowledgeable but do not need to have competed at an official level to qualify for these ranks.

How good is a 9th-degree black belt in each type of martial arts?

The 9th-degree black belt in each martial art varies. Broadly speaking, the 9th-degree black belt can be categorized as either a competitive level of mastery or a general level of skill.

Competitors will have many more belts than those that are general practitioners and will demonstrate higher levels of skill and expertise.

However, practitioners who are general practitioners may also be very skilled. Depending on the martial arts, you may be able to find a 9th-degree black belt for anything from savate to Thai boxing.

What does it mean to be a 9th-degree black belt in each art?

A 9th-degree black belt in Aikido, for example, denotes a high level of expertise within the art. This skill is gained through years of practice and study.

There are only very few people who have achieved this level, and they are without a doubt considered great leaders and teachers within the Aikido community.

7th-degree black belts are beginning to enter the realm of masters. These highly skilled practitioners have taken the time to learn through both practice and teaching, so they can pass this knowledge on to others.

How many years does it take to get a 9th-degree black belt?

It takes at least eight years to earn a 9th-degree black belt in every martial art that has it.

It takes at least 7-8 years to get a 9th-degree black belt in Brazilian Jiu Jitsu -and two of them are only for women.

First, you must be awarded your brown belt, usually given after three years of training. Then, the lighter blue belt is given after another 2-3 years of training.


In conclusion, a black belt is a sign of an experienced martial artist with a high level of skill. While the term “black belt” can simply denote the color of a belt, it often carries more prestige than other belts.

The 8th and 9th-degree black belts are more prestigious than any others because they denote a master-level skill.

Similar Posts